Join our fight


Our impact is the sum of your support.

We are never too many to change the world.

The 750 members of WAAAR are physicians, hospital managers, scientific researchers, hygiene nurses, patients and patient organizations, economists and concerned persons, from over 55 countries. In June 2014, the WAAAR initiated the Paris Declaration which enlisted the support of over 100 persons and, up to 145 societies or institutes. 

Membership adhesion

For French subscribers : 

Vous pouvez choisir d’adhérer par paiement en ligne et payer à l’aide de votre carte Visa (cliquer sur “Join“). Vous  obtiendrez  directement un certificat fiscal.

Vous pouvez également adhérer en nous renvoyant par la poste le bulletin suivant rempli accompagné de votre chèque  : Télécharger le bulletin (avec consignes).

For non-French subscribers : 

You can subscribe  online by clicking on “Donate” Button. Then click on the British Flag, you will be able to pay with your visa card.

Alternatively you can send by post both documents below :

WAAAR is among the largest networks, along with REACT or APUA, of people actively working to make the world safe for human beings in the “post-antibiotic era”, a partner of the World Sepsis Day and a collaborator of COMBACT.


support us


au sein de the WAAAR


to the newsletter

EU Prizes


Our team

Jean Carlet

Dr Jean Carlet, Trained in internal medicine, was head of the ICU in Hospital St Joseph in Paris for 25 years and has published in medical journals on the issue of antibiotic resistance for over 30 years. ACdeBMR WAAAR initially gained international recognition with the launch of the Paris Declaration. In 2015 he was nominated by France’s minister of health as the president of a Special Task Force for Antibiotic Preservation to elaborate the national plan on AMR. Dr Carlet is a leading steering committee member of several coalitions to combat AMR, such as the CDDEP’s CARA Coalition : The Conscience of Antimicrobial Resistance Accountabiliy. In November of 2017, he initiated the launch of ANTARTICA, The ANTimicrobiAl Resistance CriTIcal Care, a new coalition on scepsis, to achieve the WHO target, along with like minded specialist physicians in critical care. Along with WAAAR’s Vice-President Garance F Upham, Dr Carlet is Editor-in-Chief of the leading AMR publication for investors and decision makers : AMR Control, in collaboration with London publisher Global Health Dynamics.

Jean Carlet

Former President and Founder of ACdeBMR / WAAAR

Vincent Jarlier

Vincent JARLIER, M.D. PhD and PU-PH at the Faculty of Medicine, Sorbonne University, is a long-time member of ACdeBMR and its Vice-President today. He was head of the hospital bacteriology-hygiene department at the Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital and a researcher for many years, notably on antibiotic resistance and nosocomial infections, especially on the prevention of transmission of multi-resistant bacteria in healthcare. He is a member of the organising team of EARS-net (European Antibiotic Resistance Surveillance System), of the organising team of EUCIC (European Committee on Infection Control). He was for several years Vice-President of the National Technical Committee on Nosocomial Infections (CTIN) at the Ministry of Health, and is Delegate for Nosocomial Infections at the "Direction de l'Assistance Publique-Hôpitaux de Paris". He has been in charge of the BMR-Raisin national program to monitor multi-drug resistant bacteria in French hospitals for about ten years. In 1997, he was one of the founders of ONERBA, the National Observatory on Antibiotic Resistance, of which he was in charge of the scientific council. Professor Jarlier is author and co-author of more than 300 international publications.

Vincent Jarlier



Jean-Pierre Hermet was Chairman of the Supervisory Board of EUROBIO Scientific, a leading French manufacturer of in vitro diagnostics, with more than €190 million in sales and listed on Euronext. He had taken over the management of this company in 2008, then named InGen Biosciences, when it achieved a turnover of €12 million. Since 2015, he has been a member of the Strategic Committee of NOVOLYZE, a food safety company. Since 2016, he has coached more than 37 laureates from Finland to Israel in the EIC Accelerator programme of the European agency EASME.
In 1999, he founded Hemosystem which developed a method for the rapid detection of bacteria in blood and blood products.
He is also the author of numerous studies on Medical Biology published by les Echos Etudes.

Jean-Pierre Hermet

Secretary-General and Former Treasurer of ACdeBMR/WAAAR

Robert Cohen

Dr. Robert Cohen is a pediatrician-infectiologist, Associate Professor of Pediatrics. Throughout his career he has been involved in a quadruple activity. As an infectiologist in a medical bacteriology laboratory, providing antibiotic advice for all the adult and children's departments of a general hospital (Créteil intermunicipal hospital). An outpatient paediatrician, taking care of children with communal infections and vaccinating them. As an anti-infectious and vaccine evaluator with AFFSAPS for 15 years as vice-president and then president of the Working Group on Anti-Infectives (antibiotics, antivirals and vaccines). Finally, he was Scientific Director of the world's leading research group in community paediatric infectious pathology (ACTIV): more than 400 publications referenced on Pubmed. He initiated a policy of restricting the use of antibiotics, which has been widely followed by paediatricians, based in particular on the use of rapid diagnostic tests. Finally, he created InfoVac France with the help of InfoVac Switzerland: vaccination and antibiotic therapy being extremely linked.

Robert Cohen

Marie-Hélène nicolas chanoine

Marie-Hélène Nicolas-Chanoine, MD and PhD, has been Professor Emeritus of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Paris, since September 2017. Her research activity, which began in 1984 (at the Pasteur Institute under the direction of Stewart Cole) and is still ongoing within the UMR 1137 (IAME), focuses on antibiotic resistance in Gram-negative bacilli and more specifically in enterobacteria. Her hospital activities as PU-PH and Head of Microbiology Department for 37 years at AP-HP, led her to (i) become deeply involved in the organisation of the fight against the spread of Multi-antibiotic Resistant Bacteria (MRB) in hospitals and (ii) to conduct various studies by obtaining Hospital Clinical Research Projects to clarify which factors are likely to be involved in the development in hospitals of infections caused by BMR strains in different species. Professor Nicolas-Chanoine joined the National Observatory on Antibiotic Resistance (ONERBA) one year after its creation in 1997, where she was a member of the Scientific Committee for many years and then President.

Marie-Hélène Nicolas Chanoine

previous arrow
next arrow

Join us, become a WAAAR member now!